Destiny

Greetings from Angmar, again. I’m fine, really – things get better, things get worse, I get tired and I think about home.  I’m not really sure what I was expecting when I left home and came over the mountains to this place.  I certainly wasn’t expecting to find myself in Carn Dum (again), in the heart of a damp and slimy cave, under attack by tentacles.  Or standing on collapsing pillars, trying to fire arrows in rapid succession at an unspeakably horrid creature rising from the middle of a pool of acid.  Sometimes I ask myself “When did I get picked to save the world?”

There seems to have been a lot of talk about my “destiny” lately.  Since when do I have some impressive “destiny?!”  I am not special.  It feels like there’s some sort of conspiracy to which I am not party.  Thalya has told me that I must have great things in store for me.  Haarland wrote to me that my destiny is far greater than his.

When I came here, I didn’t ask for destiny.  I planned to see things, do things, meet people unlike myself.  Somehow, though, I find myself in the fray of an almost impossible struggle to keep back a growing darkness.  And I stay here and I feel like I have to stand up and fight for those I have grown to love, and in hopes that this will never reach those of you I left behind.

 Valaraen's Signature

Leave a Reply

